Today I was talking to a mom at the playland at McDonald's. Her son and Logan were playing together. She and I started a conversation that led into talking about our other children and when I told her about Gracie she said, wow I don't know how you do it! God bless you she said to me....she said she just doesn't know how I do it....she says to me that at times she doesn't think she can even handle the role of being a mom somedays much less being a mom to a child with special needs. What was I supposed to say to that? Now, she was a very nice lady so I truely believe in her heart she was attempting to compliment me, but as she was saying to me she just doesn't know how I do it and that she just wouldn't be able to handle it and so on....the thoughts are running through my head and I am thinking, I don't know how I do it either...I just do and so would she....she is a mother and you just do it...I didn't ask for Grace to be disabled....never in a million years did I ever think I could handle or "do" the type of role I have been given. You just do it right? I know she meant well but it just came across as though I had a choice of raising a healthy child or a special needs child. And made me think about what exactly she was saying....she says she just couldn't handle it? She can't imagine it no, but handle it, yes.
d
Sunday, March 9, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment