Well, this morning Gracie woke up with a little rash on her nose, it was such a small area and only on her nose (at the time) that we didn't think much of it. We went through our normal weekday morning getting ready for school routine and she seemed fine, laughing at Ari and Logan and watching cartoons. When we got to school I noticed her cheeks looked a little red/rashy too so I had the nurse take a look at her and she wasn't sure either and just thought maybe it was something that she was allergic to that touched her face or something because she had no fever and was acting fine. I told them to call me if it got worse or if she had a fever, etc. Well, she made it through the day and when I went to pick her up I noticed her face was still rashy (it seemed worse than earlier that morning). She did seem okay still and was happy and smiling when she saw me and Logan...though she seemed a little "slow" in responding to me…kind of delayed responses. By the time we got home and I brought her in the house it had spread to her neck and behind her ears and it had heat when you touched it. I called for Jerry to come up from the office and he noticed too that it had gotten worse so we checked her temp and she had 100.7. Of course her regular doc office was closed by then so we took her to urgent care. They tested her for strep and that was negative. But the xrays showed she has double "walking" pneumonia. Walking they call it because she really didn't have any typical signs of pneumonia, no congestion or high fever, lethargy, etc. Like she was walking (don't I wish walking) around with it but not really sick…if that makes sense! He put her on amoxicillin because it's been less than 30 days since she was on azithromycin for her bronchitis and sinus infection. Poor Gracie L She is such a trooper…she still seems fine though, nothing like the pneumonia she's had in the past. I am hoping that's because maybe we caught this one early!
Tuesday, April 8, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment